Mike McDaniel Revealed The Team Have Contacted The League Regarding Josh Allen's Potential Fumble On The Kneel Down
Share this article:
Buffalo,NY - Sep 20,2025
Miami Dolphins head coach Mike McDaniel revealed that the team has contacted the NFL to seek clarification regarding a potential fumble by Buffalo Bills quarterback Josh Allen during a kneel-down play. McDaniel stated, "It appeared to me that it was a fumble... I don't think it's appropriate for everyone to wait around while I'm having an adult temper tantrum." The Dolphins are seeking an explanation from the league about this controversial moment. (@MiamiDolphins) #PhinsUp
Videos: https://x.com/FinsXtra/status/1969106019218309122
The match between Buffalo Bills and Miami Dolphins took place on September 18, 2025, with the Bills winning 31-21. At the end of the first half, the Dolphins scored a touchdown, tying the game at 14-14 with 8 seconds remaining. After the kickoff, the Bills received the ball and performed a kneel-down to end the first half. However, Josh Allen mishandled the snap, causing the ball to come loose, but he recovered it while on his knee, and the referee blew the whistle to end the play. The Dolphins believe the ball was still live, and they could have jumped in to contest for possession.
If the Dolphins had successfully recovered the ball at the Bills' approximately 25-yard line with 1-2 seconds remaining, they could have attempted a field goal from around 42 yards to take a 17-14 lead before halftime. Leading at the end of the first half could have shifted the momentum of the game, giving the Dolphins more confidence in the second half, where the Bills scored an additional 17 points while the Dolphins only managed 7. However, the chances of scoring were low due to the limited time and the need for a quick recovery of the ball.
If the league confirms that the referee made an error, the result of the game will not be changed because the NFL does not reverse results after the game has ended. The Bills will not be penalized as this was an unintentional mishandled snap, not a deliberate violation. However, the league may review the referee's performance, leading to a warning or demotion for the involved referee. Additionally, the Dolphins' contact with the league to clarify the rules could result in the league issuing new guidelines for similar situations in the future.
May You Like

Bears Could Get Huge Boost to Pass Rush for ‘MNF’ vs. Commanders

Cowboys Reunite with a Former Starter, Bolstering a Battle-Tested Defense for the Stretch Run
